My Prayer Partner

After almost a year of preparations, con mucho trabajo, my son took his familia to South America, and well, that means que toda nuestra familia is on the Bolivia journey, y pues the struggle has been real. Praying for our “baby church” has plunged me into a deeper, more earnest stance in prayer. Praying without ceasing has taken a deeper meaning. I have acquired a an unexpected prayer partner along the way.

After the shock waves of the  announcement,“Out of San Diego and into Bolivia South America, Jon and Denise Greene” subsided, I prayed, pero mostly for me. Así es, How would I handle the separation? I prayed as I released my son again. Peace came and with it came vision beyond our borders for Gods will.

During the intense days of sorting and packing, I prayed. Worry and anxiety only added fuel to my prayer. Por supuesto que Dios, his Abba Father saw his predicament. It seems like a countless amount of totes filled with their “lives” vacuum sealed, packed, wrapped in plastic, weighed and loaded into the van. Dios mío, how would they clear customs? Not to mention their luggage, carry ons and personal items. I prayed, the family prayed and even some of you prayed. They did! They arrived late at night, with 2 crying toddlers in his arms, and 3 grumpy exhausted little girls carrying their loaded backpacks they pushed their carryons to customs. And like a scene from Frank Perretis book “Piercing the Darkness” when they had no more strength, literally, because they were feeling the altitude change, the angels of God cleared away for them. With absolute Immediate favor, no problems, or bumps in the process, the  officials did very little inspection of their sea of belongings and gave them entry. Alleluia! Que alivio! Gracias a Dios!

In their transition I’ve been prayerful. Toda la familia has been feeling the unrest of separation and the discomfort of change. Fatigue and dietary adjustments. Mi nuera and the kids have all been feeling sick. As I’m hearing of all these changes, I’m praying, knowing it takes time. My prayer has been all over the place. Now I pray with the void of separation, what if they forget me? Now I pray earnestly, making myself remember that God is there with them, actively working in their lives. Always I pray for each one individually, missing them, wanting them to miss me. Pero si saben, that ultimately, I pray for peace and joy as they build a lasting work for God in the great city of La Paz, Bolivia.

Ya se imaginan my indignation at the devil, when a few days ago I received a text from my first granddaughter; Maricella.

Mari: Ama, please pray for me, I just threw up. I have pain (I could almost hear her sweet voice calling out to me)

Me: oh Mari! Yes I’ll pray for you. What kind of pain? Your stomach? All your body?

Mari: my stomach

Me: ok let’s do this. I’ll pray with you. You put your hand on your stomach, where the pain is and let’s ask Jesus to heal you, ok?

Mari: ok D’ma (oh goodness I felt her soft whimper)

So I sent her a short prayer for healing in Jesus name. I instructed her to read it and then let me know when she was ready to pray so Thomas and I could agree in prayer with her. Then I waited. All the while praying “Jesus you say we can ask you anything in your name and you promise that it will be done, according to your will. I know it is not your will for my Mari to be in pain and sickness, hear her prayer” Then I checked on her. 

Me: Mari? Do you feel better?

Mari: yes a little.

Me: well let’s pray again so you can feel completely better ok?

Mari: yes Ama ( her text was still sounding weak)

Me: pray again, but this time. Pray a prayer of thanksgiving. Thank God for your healing, for your blessings, ok?

Mari: Ok Ama. I’m ready.

We prayed and I anxiously waited, praying until I heard back. In typical 11 year old mode, she got the relief she needed and forgot about dear old Ama! she wasn’t texting me, Hijole! Didn’t she know I was anxious to know that she was completely well again?

Me: Mari? What happened, how are you?

Mari: Great!

Me: (in typical human incredulity) what? You’re healed? Did Jesus heal you?

Mari: Yes, Ama, I feel great.

Me: oh Mari we must thank God! Praise him for this miracle! Sing songs of praise!

Mari: Ok, I will.

Me: I too will sing a song of praise with you. When you’re done, go pray for you little brothers (es que they too were not feeling well and the family was praying for them also) And sing throughout the rooms in your house, tell that spirit of infirmity to leave your house and be thankful.

Mari: ok Ama I will

While I was busy thanking God, so relieved for my little granddaughter she followed my instructions exactamente! My daughter Inlaw texted me to tell me how bold and confidently she had gone to her brothers, put her hands on them and prayed for their healing, y luego, she went about the rooms singing songs of praise to God.

Mari: I did it Ama. Thank you so much.

Me: how are your brothers?

Mari: better.

So simple. I stood amazed at how God had shown himself real to my little granddaughter. She hadn’t been uncomfortable to approach the King of Kings for healing and he granted her petition. She thanked me with such relief in her text and I truly felt her love. Abuela muy culeca! I was so pleased. Imagínese how much pleasure her Abba Father felt with such willing faith. 

Gracias a Dios that He let me be a part of that miracle. Mari and Ama partnered together in prayer and God moved on their behalf.

Since that day, her sweet texts have been mostly good morning Ama and goodnight. As much I want to chat more, I can tell she is doing very well. I thank God for her, for them.

This journey has only just begun, please pray with me and my prayer partner  for the Greenes in Bolivia and for revival in La Paz! Mil gracias.

Leave a comment