A Baby Dedication

We dedicated our children to the Lord, while they were still infants.  A baby dedication is a parents vow to raise their children in Gods Word and in his narrow path. Pero, que exactamente what does that mean? Many times we make vows not really “feeling” the weight they carry. 

Fijense. 

 “I take thee Benjamin to be my wedded husband…for better or worse (que worse! Never did I think that I would face worse!) …”and thereto I pledge thee my faith” ( Hijole! I gave my word, le prometi a mi flaco that I was his until death did part us. Y pues, my word is reliable o no? Y ahora 35 years into marriage with my Cold Blooded Englishman, I realize that making a vow and fulfilling it requires supernatural strength, preferably Gods.

Well, dedicating our children to God is also a lifelong commitment. A vow to teach them Gods Word and ways, kept us clinging to God to show them what life Heavenward was like. 

Como me acuerdo, when we had our first baby. Me and my first born had a rocky start. A broken leg, a c-section and pain meds made our first meeting emotional and groggy to say the least. The only thing I was sure of, is that he was the most beautiful baby en todo el mundo!  He was a big baby, almost 11lbs. We were laid up in the hospital for 5 days, poor baby had almost lost a pound?! How was I going to take care of this demanding little guy? I couldn’t walk, I needed help and Ben was just as overwhelmed. Gracias a Dios that he adjusted to supplementing with formula and we survived our first 6 weeks together. he looked older than a newborn! Just as soon as my cast was removed I asked my pastor if we could dedicate him the following Sunday. Although I didn’t have a new dress, or even an old one that fit right, and my leg still ached, I was ready to make my “mothering vow”. With God everything was gonna be smooth and easy. 

On our Sunday dedication morning, I expected “alleluias” from heaven, maybe some glorious light streaming into the building. The regular service proceeded as usual and after the announcements, Pastor announced a baby dedication. We appreciated the cheers and claps  as we went to stand in front of the pulpit. Pastor Rodriguez took my big baby into his hands and laughingly commented on his hefty size. I smiled, very smug that mi hijo era el mas chulo! He spoke a few words explaining to the church and any visitors why we dedicate our babies to the Lord. He expressed appreciation to God for the blessing of children and  as he cradled my big baby boy the congregation lifted their hands toward us and prayed for our baby. When the prayer subsided, he turned his attention to us. Incredible! I was a momma and we were standing before God making vows to protect, provide, teach, correct and encourage him into a life for Christ. The Pastor said  a few words of congratulations, then some instruction with a scripture to back up his words Pastor prayed for me, and I lifted my hands as the church prayed, then he prayed for Ben. A life changing ceremony that took a simple prayer of dedication. In my heart, I knew that dedicating him to God was the best thing we would do for him. Y asi fue, it was a vow that I have remembered often through the last 34 years. The responsibility of that vow kept me watchful and prayerful as a mother. When I had to make a stand and say “no hijo, we’re not going to do that” and he was very disappointed, I had to hold fast to that promise I made. When my son didn’t care one iota that he was a child set apart for God’s plan, we cared and persisted in showing him the right way to go. At the age of 15 God had called him into the ministry to preach the gospel and he did like Jonah in the bible, he reached for a way out. He went for the lower, wide path. I saw his unhappiness and knew he was running away. I tried to speak words of encouragement, then I tried strong words of admonishment. When I didn’t know if he was heeding our warnings, I had to remember that we had dedicated him to God. We waited ( not very patiently) for God to step in. We prayed that he would not compromise for the empty promises of this world. Pero he did, we kept praying. I worried, I prayed some more and cried and tried really hard to keep the strong latina woman front and center, it didn’t always work, pero Dios me ayudo. Through those teen years of fearful and dissatisfied grumblings, (honestamente, our grumblings mingled with his) he never quite totally walked away from God and his people. I mean, wasn’t it enough to be a good church going person? He knew that God was real, he saw changed lives, he saw God’s miraculous hand on others, he knew that the safest place to be was in the will of God and he was outraged! Meanwhile, we prayed, and continued to live our lives surrendering daily and rededicating our kids to God daily. Our pastor always says “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink” y pues, that’s where our first born was, with direct access to the  living water and yet feeling quite thirsty. 

De repente! Un dia, when he was all grown up. Mi hijo was a married man, with 3 beautiful little daughters, deliverance came when he was Born Again. Pero we all know that things don’t just happen “de repente” when it comes to God’s children. He, being Gods dedicated child, wanted all of Gods blessings in his own way and in his timing. He wanted his sin, he hated his sin! Hijole! He was under much conviction, making bad choices. Spinning out in turmoil, distress, oppression, y quien sabe what else tormented him for some time and also hurt his beautiful wife. 

Just as soon as he surrendered his heart, mind and life to Jesus, his conversion was miraculous and quick, before we knew it, he was being trained and discipled for ministry.

Imaginense, just as I was enjoying my hijos radical conversion, he was announced to go into Bonita, California  to start a church. Asi es, mi hijo primogenito un pastor!  I remembered my vow as a parent and all that God had done. I adjusted to the separation all the way south of us, about 20 minutes away, bien lejos!  Y ahora, he and his family will only be a 14 hour flight away to Bolivia in South America. 

Asi es que a baby dedication is a lifelong commitment of personal surrender to parent God’s way and believe that He keeps his promises. When the children grow up, it’s not over. When they themselves dedicate their lives to Christ, it’s still not over. When they answer God’s call and willingly give up their plans for Gods plan, it’s definitely not over. I’m discovering that a parent fully equipped in Gods armor is critically needed. Prayer without ceasing or seizing is real!  As for me and my Benjamin we continue to pray and encourage and keep a good testimony. 

Que Dios nos ayuda, this transition is upon us, please pray for the Greenes.

Leave a comment